A Shark, A Shocking and Multiple Shootings

I have more than a decade of experience in television news. I was born and raised in New York. And I live and work in Miami. I’ve seen and heard a lot. But this past week has been unusually interesting.  I’m writing as I’m enjoying my first day off after a ten-day stretch of covering everything from shootings to…um…a shark!

Yes, this week, only in Miami, surveillance video and eyewitness accounts portray how a couple of men reeled in a nurse shark from Biscayne Bay, transported the shark via mass transit and a bicycle, then tried to sell it to a couple of Miami seafood markets. The seafood merchants knew better than to bite at the bait. And they balked. So the peddlers dumped the shark in the middle of a city street!

I covered that story the same day I covered a shooting in the middle of the afternoon, in the middle of North Miami. Police spotted a car that was allegedly stolen by a carjacker earlier in the day. The sighting led to a chase which led to a crash which led police to shoot the man suspected of the carjacking.

The next day, I found myself covering the story of a young man who attempted to do a good dead with a deadly result. A strong weather system knocked down a power line in Hialeah.  A twenty-one year old college student tried to move the downed wire out of the path of drivers. He was electrocuted.

The day after, I went to South Miami-Dade County because three gunmen  reportedly ambushed an armored truck. Then a security guard on board shot and killed one of the gunmen. Heavily armed police officers peacefully took the other two suspects into custody.

That was a slice of a week in the life of this broadcast journalist in Miami.

One Response to “A Shark, A Shocking and Multiple Shootings”

  1. larita Says:

    Yes, You were absolutely busy…keep up the good work…letting people know what’s going in their neck of the woods…

Leave a Reply

